This list has been created to help in the avoidance of purchasing products which contain animal derived ingredients and whilst it may seem long, note that it is not inclusive of all ingredients as new variations for names are continually being patented.
It is important to know that it is extremely difficult to avoid every single animal ingredient and to remember that a vegan lifestyle is focused on reducing harm to animals in a way which is possible and practical.
As stated by PETA, “boycotting products that may contain trace amount of animal products can actually be more harmful in the long run. E.g., by refusing to eat a veggie burger from a restaurant because the bun “may contain traces” of milk or eggs, you may discourage that restaurant from offering vegan options because it is seems too difficult a task”, it is also worth keeping in mind that this label is often used for protection against lawsuits from customers who suffer from food-related allergies.
Each ingredient is hyperlinked to a Wikipedia definition for your convenience as some ingredients are also available from plant sources. Please use this list as a guide for how to best avoid them.
(We also recommend downloading the ‘Is it Vegan?” app for convenience when grocery shopping)
ANIMAL DERIVED INGREDIENTS
Natural Sources: (Can mean animal or vegetable sources, often in the health-food industry and especially in cosmetics it means animal sources, such as animal elastin, glands, fat, protein, and oil)